Four ECE Graduates Honored at CoE Alumni Awards

The 2022 College of Engineering Alumni Awards were held on Saturday, April 23, 2022 in Atlanta. The inductees were originally scheduled to be honored in the spring of 2020.

Each year, the College’s eight schools nominate graduates in three categories: Council of Outstanding Young Engineering Alumni, Academy of Distinguished Engineering Alumni, and the Engineering Hall of Fame.

This year, four ECE graduates were honored: Garrett Langley B.E.E. ’09 (bottom right) was honored by the Council of Outstanding Young Engineering Alumni, Carmel Ortiz B.E.E. ’89 (bottom left) was honored by the Academy of Distinguished Engineering Alumni, and James G. Pope B.E.E. ’65 (top left) and Ronald L. Yancey B.E.E. ’65 (top right) were both inducted by in to the Engineering Hall of Fame.

Additionally, Sebastián Negrón, a first-year Dean’s Scholarship recipient in electrical engineering, was the student speaker for the Alumni Awards.

Alumni Association Honors Five ECE Alumni in 2021 40 Under 40 List

Georgia Tech’s impact reaches every industry, every part of the globe, and every aspect of people’s lives through the work of our esteemed alumni. Each year, the Georgia Tech Alumni Association announces 40 distinguished honorees who have innovated industries and positively impacted communities across the globe.

For 2021, five alumni from the ECE were chosen (top right to bottom right): Arindam Basu, MS Math 09, PhD ECE 10; Sam Elia, EE 13, MS ECE 14; Garrett Langley, EE 09; Precious Urenna Onyewuchi, MS ECE 08, PhD ECE 12; and Miheer Walavalkar, MS ECE 07.

Those nominated must have completed at least one semester at Georgia Tech, be under the age of 40 as of June 30, 2021, and have made an impact in their profession or community, spanning all industries and sectors. A committee of 21 faculty, staff, and volunteer leaders, who collectively represented all Georgia Tech colleges, scored each nominee using a 25-point rubric.

You can find more ECE alumni highlights by exploring the ECE recent news section.